Discussion Web Novels/Light Novels: Like turn of the century pulp fiction but less cool.

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
Sometimes the dude wakes up in the middle of the night and sees Kazuma Kamachi over his bed with about ten manuscripts in his hands, all dirty with diarrhea and vomit from the norovirus he's not treating.

"Choose," Kazuma Kamachi says.
they wouldn't shock me the least, in fact, one of the reason index is so fucken long is that Kazuma Kamachi forgets plot points, characters and god knows what else that he set up in earlier books and is going back to tie this shit back in. for example if you want to know why shokuhou Misaki was becoming more important in new testament, is because he going to write her in index but forgot so he had to double back and fit her into the story, and in genesis testament, she showing up quite a bit.
the guy is a madman I could see index going on for another decade, this is going to be his epic that he going to write.
the epic of the TOUman.



7fe23d84994568466208ca585233035a.jpg
a cetan touman.jpg
 

Fennec_fox

varishangout.com
Regular
While we are praising Kamachi the god, if anyone would like to start reading Index/Toaru I would like to direct them here.
Yeah, especially after the recent shenanigans (if I'm not mistaken Index novels also got hit by "editorial changes"?)
Nevertheless that folder with officially tr LNs will still be useful as well as nyaa link, thx madmen.
another short story about this madman, and did some cleaning up
I'm sure there will be more updates in the future, but for now, I'll leave you with this.
Also Gundam do you have more stories about this guy? This is some goldmine of writing stories with that madlad. Do you get them from interviews and commentary tracks from BDs/DVDs? It also seems like the link to that wordpress site unfortunately does not work.
I have the last question( it's an offtop): do you know if there was anywhere a fan translated version of Mushoku Tensei Light novels?
 

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
Yeah, especially after the recent shenanigans (if I'm not mistaken Index novels also got hit by "editorial changes"?)
Nevertheless that folder with officially tr LNs will still be useful as well as nyaa link, thx madmen.

Also Gundam do you have more stories about this guy? This is some goldmine of writing stories with that madlad. Do you get them from interviews and commentary tracks from BDs/DVDs? It also seems like the link to that wordpress site unfortunately does not work.
so the story I linked is from a chapter of a book, that his editor wrote about himself and his experience in the industry, and Kazuma Kamachi was talked about in a chapter in that book.
also there a few interviews and afterwords that sound like the ramblings of a crazy man, I try and find them and link them in the post.

I have the last question( it's an offtop): do you know if there was anywhere a fan translated version of Mushoku Tensei Light novels?

thou who criticize thy official translator shalt be thy brother, so saith the Lord.
taketh thy humble offering for thy brother and don't breach thy sacred covenant.
or thy seed shalt become like rotting fruit.
 

Attachments

  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 001-011 - Infancy Period [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    6.6 MB · Views: 91
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 012-019 - Juvenile Period - Home Teacher Chapter [Trans][traitorAI...pdf
    5.6 MB · Views: 156
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 020-033 - Juvenile Period - Adventurer Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.9 MB · Views: 71
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 034-043 - Juvenile Period - Voyage Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    5.7 MB · Views: 62
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 044-050 - Juvenile Period - Reunion Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    5 MB · Views: 129
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 051-063 - Juvenile Period - Homecoming Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.9 MB · Views: 70
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 064-069 - Youth Period - School Entry Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    3.1 MB · Views: 71
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 070-080 - Youth Period - Special Student Chapter [Trans][traitorAI...pdf
    6.6 MB · Views: 157
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 081-091 - Youth Period - Sylphiette Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    2.9 MB · Views: 75
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 092-098 - Youth Period - Newlyweds Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    3.2 MB · Views: 118
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 099-109 - Youth Period - Younger Sisters Chapter [Trans][traitorAI...pdf
    4.3 MB · Views: 102
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 110-117 - Youth Period - Begaritto Continent Chapter [Trans][trait...pdf
    2.6 MB · Views: 80
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 118-132 - Youth Period - Labyrinth Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.7 MB · Views: 206
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 133-143 - Young Man Period - Everyday Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.5 MB · Views: 62
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 144-154 - Young Man Period - Summoning Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.2 MB · Views: 188
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 155-165 - Young Man Period - Human God Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.9 MB · Views: 79
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 166-175 - Young Man Period - Kingdom Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4.5 MB · Views: 58
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 176-189 - Young Man Period - Asura Kingdom Chapter [Trans][traitor...pdf
    4.6 MB · Views: 296
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 190-199 - Young Man Period - Subordinates Chapter [Trans][traitorA...pdf
    4.1 MB · Views: 79
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 200-212 - Young Man Period - Zanoba Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    4 MB · Views: 77
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 213-216 - Intermission Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    1 MB · Views: 74
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 217-228 - Young Man Period - Cliff Chapter [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    2 MB · Views: 65
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 229-238 - Young Man Period - Organization Chapter [Trans][traitorA...pdf
    1.6 MB · Views: 55
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 239-259 - Young Man Period - Decisive Battle Chapter [Trans][trait...pdf
    3.4 MB · Views: 120
  • Mushoku Tensei - WN Chapter 260-264 - Conclusion Volume [Trans][traitorAIZEN].pdf
    918.8 KB · Views: 138

Fennec_fox

varishangout.com
Regular
thou who criticize thy official translator shalt be thy brother, so saith the Lord.
taketh thy humble offering for thy brother and don't breach thy sacred covenant.
or thy seed shalt become like rotting fruit.
Man you're a godsend madlad. Thank you very much, I hope your work will always be appreciated:yukari-salute:
 

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
Man you're a godsend madlad. Thank you very much, I hope your work will always be appreciated:yukari-salute:
I didn't do this translation it was someone else.
but at some point, once my Japanese reading level is up to stuff I plan to do my own translations or start my own group.
because while fan translation does have a negative reputation due to the varying degrees of quality you can get with fan translations, but fan translations need to exist as an alternative.
otherwise "official" translators will see no reason to change their practices or their shitty behaviour if they have nothing that can counter them.


Quotation-Sun-Tzu-The-supreme-art-of-war-is-to-subdue-the-enemy-54-81-48.jpg
 

Fennec_fox

varishangout.com
Regular
I didn't do this translation it was someone else.
I know, I know. I meant that you shared the LNs with us.
otherwise "official" translators will see no reason to change their practices or their shitty behaviour if they have nothing that can counter them.
They never will. But we can make a huge dent in their can of worms so they can realize internally that they will have to stop with their censorship and woke-editing.
 

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
I know, I know. I meant that you shared the LNs with us.
I was just double-checking because I wasn't sure, but happy to help.


They never will. But we can make a huge dent in their can of worms so they can realize internally that they will have to stop with their censorship and woke-editing.
a small part of hopes that maybe they would see the errors of their ways, but from what I have seen over the last few years.
you're pretty much right, they're never going to change their ways until you humble them.
which could happen if fan translators set up their own networks and groups became more widespread, then they would have competition, but no they got to have a monopoly and create this toxic environment for themselves and the consumer base. they think they're holier than thou just because they know Japanese and give handjobs to industry executives.

edit: found a funny meme that I think fits.

ExpZ7pyXIAI_zyd.png
 
Last edited:

Thor3034

varishangout.com
right now I am reading world keeper and The Setting's really interesting and I can’t say i have seen a world like this it’s like a weird mix between Chinese cultivation manhua and isekai fantasy and sci-fi it has a lot of concepts and ideas that I don’t see much or at all. it also has a lot of lore and im a lorewhore sooo Plus for me. You can read it on scribblehub where are the author posts His work for free (warning if you’re planning on reading it there are a LOOOOT of chapters so be prepared for the long-haul)
 
Last edited:

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
right now I am reading world keeper and The Setting's really interesting and I can’t say i have seen a world like this it’s like a weird mix between Chinese cultivation manhua and isekai fantasy and sci-fi it has a lot of concepts and ideas that I don’t see much or at all. it also has a lot of lore and im a lorewhore sooo Plus for me. You can read it on scribblehub where are the author posts His work for free (warning if you’re planning on reading it there are a LOOOOT of chapters so be prepared for the long-haul)
if you like Chinese & korean web novels.
i know a good podcast that talks about that shit let me give you a link.
tReading the path of heaven podcast.
 

AustinZero

varishangout.com
I will soon be reading To Love Ru Darkness manga. After that series, will be either the Fate Kaleid Prism Illya manga or Keijo manga since they are in Japanese and straight from Japan. And my web light novels will be published hopefully near the end of the summer or fall if everything goes well. I plan to make them in English, Spanish, and Japanese. Seven titles. All have one volume.
 

nihi

varishangout.com
Lately, I've been reading very interesting webnovels in the +18 section of narou.
Top 5 ranking novels there have more twisted shit than redo of healer, considering redo of healer at least has the "its a medieval fantasy, so other culture" excuse. many series there are about slaves and such in modern japan :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: that website is where redo of healer was published first.

also ive been reading many RomCom LN's. many are interesting.
I really recommend otonari tenshi if you wanna heal your soul a little. its fluffy antics and drama https://www.novelupdates.com/series...-no-ma-ni-ka-dame-ningen-ni-sareteita-ken-wn/
this novel is actually so popular it already has like 8 novel series clones. cohabitation romcoms are now popular in japan.

I'm also addicted to this isekai. its kind of new: isekai about an otome jrpg. its hilarious and one of the few series that has had me consistently entertained through all the volumes. I just find the mc so fucking amazing and funny in a smug way, and the story its quite interesting, because since it follows a linear path, some things change. here, they have the volumes translated. only volume 7 is missing http://www.vn-meido.com/k1/index.php?topic=6728.0.
 
Last edited:

Crowblack187

varishangout.com
Regular
I've read the nonary games light novel recently and yeah there actually is one. So here's the link for the fan translation.

 

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
been reading the unexplored summon blood-sign another work by the human content machine Kazuma Kamachi.
but makes even less sense than index.
the story is about whats happens when an all-powerful eldritch abomination falls in love with you, and people are summoning gods, demons, and the kitchen sink.
to fight it.
It's like SMT, Jojo's, and Yugioh had a love child.
it's about 10 volumes long, I got 9 volumes of it on pdf.
go on Baka-Tsuki for the last volume.

BloodSign_v05_cover.jpg
BloodSign_v02_243.jpg
BloodSign_v04_132.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Blood-Sign Volume 1.pdf
    14.9 MB · Views: 49
  • Blood-Sign Volume 2.pdf
    14.2 MB · Views: 29
  • Blood-Sign Volume 3.pdf
    13.8 MB · Views: 31
  • Blood-Sign Volume 4.pdf
    14.5 MB · Views: 29
  • Blood-Sign Volume 5.pdf
    10.3 MB · Views: 27
  • Blood-Sign Volume 6.pdf
    15.3 MB · Views: 29
  • Blood-Sign Volume 7.pdf
    15.6 MB · Views: 25
  • Blood-Sign Volume 8.pdf
    15.1 MB · Views: 26
  • Blood-Sign Volume 9.pdf
    11.1 MB · Views: 32
Last edited:

Fennec_fox

varishangout.com
Regular
the story is about whats happens when an all-powerful eldritch abomination falls in love with you, and people are summoning gods, demons, and the kitchen sink.
to fight it.
What the fresh fuck? I mean it's funny but is it just a gag or some reasonable strategy?
Also, thanks for sharing the novels.
 

Narbray

varishangout.com
Regular
I am currently reading Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru Sō Desu me? but it's boring, I go slow 😑
ok so as someone who is pretty much outside the loop on LNs and web novels. What is the appeal to them? what differentiantes a light novel/webnovel from a normal novel
Also add that they usually have anime style illustrations, on the cover and some pages.
 

translation gundam

varishangout.com
Regular
finished blood sign now reading The Zashiki Warashi of Intellectual Village.
another work by the human content machine Kazuma Kamachi.
this is the most coherent of his works I have read so far, it's about how japan economy went to shit and so they turned rural villages into technology hubs, and these villages are full of yokai. and everything they sell is overpriced as fuck.
is about the main character with his Zashiki-Warashi and getting into adventures involving with yokai, some of them who want his dick.
and then there are other segments focused around his uncle who is a police officer. it's a wild ride.

Zashiki_cover.jpg
Zashiki_v03_001.jpg
Zashiki_v04_001.jpg


Zashiki_v04_485.jpg
Zashiki_v07_001.jpg
Zashiki_v08_002.jpg


Zashiki_v09_003-005.jpg
 
Last edited:

PureHeartedVillian

varishangout.com
I like Danmchi and The World of Otome Games is Hard on Mob Characters.

I've also heard that This village SIM NPC could only be human has a light novel so I'll probably look into that.
 
Top